A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide administration in daman

Administration in Daman

Located at the mouth of the river Daman Ganga, Daman is the headquarters of the union territory of Daman and Diu and is located on the Western coast of India. The union territory came into existence on 30th May 1987, after its sepration from the state of Goa. Situated at an altitude of about 12 metres, it has a population of 191,173 according to the 2011 census. Known for its scenic beauty, beaches, historic forts, churches and a number of tourist attractions, it is an important tourist hotspot in India. Daman has 21 villages and is divided into 15 wards for the purpose of administrative convenience.

History of Daman Municipal Council

Administrative machinery in Daman

Initially, called as ‘Camara De Damao’, later as ‘Camara Municipal De Damao’, the municipal council of Daman is currently called as Daman Municipal Council. It is one of the oldest municipalities established in Asia in the 16th century, during the Portuguese rule in India. It was built based on the orders of D.C. de Braganca, the Conqueror of Daman. The entire district of Daman was under the control of the Municipal Council, which was presided over by eminent people selected by the Government. After its liberation from the Portuguese rule in 1961, the Panchayat Raj system was introduced and accordingly, various village Panchayats were established. Daman was later divided into 15 wards, with councilors representing each ward, for effective administration.

Union Territory Administration of Daman and Diu

Daman and Diu being a union territory, its administrator is appointed by the President of India. He represents the Centre and executive powers at his disposal. His duties include:

Administration of Daman
  • Decision making
  • Monitoring of budget
  • Development activities
  • Mobilization of revenue etc.
In addition, he is the secretary for departments of Home, Reforms, Vigilance, Tourism, Information Technology etc. Besides, he is the chairman of Omnibus Industrial Development Corporation (OIDC), and SC/ST/ OBC & Minority Financial Development Corporation.

Administrator of Daman
Address: Administrator’s Office, Secretariat, Daman
Phone No: 2230700, 2230770
Fax: 2230775
Website: https://www.daman.nic.in/

General Administration of Daman

Various departments like Excise, Finance, Forest, Law and Justice, Sports, Transport etc have been set up for administrative ease. Various officials are appointed to look after their respective departments. The collector looks after the administration of the city and the district as a whole. He is entrusted with a wide range of duties including maintenance of law and order, development activities, land revenue, disaster management etc. He is assisted by various officers in carrying out his duties. Shri Gaurav Rajawat is the present collector of Daman. He is also the secretary of general administration, rural development, employment and labour. He is the secretary cum director of tourism, information technology, food, transport and Panchayati Raj institutions and the director of municipal administration of Daman. The collector of Daman can be contacted at:

Collector of Daman
Address: Office of the Collector, Collectorate, Dholar, Moti Daman, Daman (U.T.) - 396220.
Phone No: 0260-2230698
Email: coll-daman-guj@nic.in
Website: www.collectordaman.gov.in

Police Department in Daman

Daman, being an important tourist hub, has a strong Police network, with sincere and dedicated police officers ready to serve those in distress. The Police officers strive hard for the welfare of the people and for maintenance of harmony in Daman. The main objective of the police force in Daman is to ensure the safety and security of the locals as well as visitors, by preventing various anti-social activities and crimes. The Superintendent of Police heads the Police force in Daman and is assisted by various officers in performing his duties.

Deputy Inspector General of Police, Daman and Diu
Phone No: 0260-2220140

Supdt. of Police, Daman
Phone No: 0260-2220051, 75675 88868

Police Control Room
Phone No: 0260-2220444

Public Representatives in Daman

Daman and Diu Lok Sabha constituency in Western India is the only parliamentary constituency in the Union Territory that covers its entire territory. It was established in the year 1987, after Goa was granted statehood and Daman and Diu was granted the status of an independent union territory.

Member of Parliament (MP) in Daman
Shri Lalubhai Babubhai
Party: Bharatiya Janata Party
Permanent Address: Sabri Kutir, Dungri Falia, Kachigam, Nani Daman, Daman & Diu
Delhi Address: 123, South Avenue,New Delhi - 110 001
Phone No: (0260) 2992444, 09825122858
Fax: (0260) 2243177

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries